Jump to content
The library informs: Välkommen till Hyltebibliotekens e-böcker, med lånekort och en pinkod kan du låna 8 e-böcker varje månad. Mer information hittar du på www.hylte.se/bibliotek .
Cover for A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle
Isbn: 978-87-2827-783-6
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Category:
Novels Romance Feelgood
Accessible since: May 2022
Narrator: Julie Teal
Length: 9 hours 9 minutes

Audiobook

A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle

‘This book is AMAZING!... What a SCRUMPTIOUS read!!... I genuinely could not, and did not want to put it down at all... I would advise that you switch your phone to silent, grab a ginormous slice of cake and ignore EVERYONE around you while you binge read...’ The Writing Garnet

The Cosy Kettle café is the perfect place to escape this summer, for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jenny Colgan and Debbie Johnson. Guests can tuck into fruit puddings and strawberry-studded ice cream, but for Flora, the warm summer breeze is blowing in big changes...

When Flora finds out about her husband’s secret fling, she escapes to the one place she feels safe: her beloved café, the Cosy Kettle, in the charming village of Honeyford. Serving up cream teas to her café regulars is the perfect way to soothe her broken heart, and although she’s never lived in the area, the little community welcome her with open arms.

She’s soon lodging with local eccentric Luna in her remote and beautiful Starlight Cottage, snuggled between rolling green hills. Luna’s handsome son Daniel lost his wife several years ago, and as Flora gets to know him, sharing walks through the blossom-scented woods, they both slowly begin to heal... and she realises that behind Daniel’s quiet exterior, there’s a passionate nature that makes her forget all about her ex-husband.

As she settles into her new life, hosting a baking competition for the village’s summer celebration seems like a great idea... but with Daniel’s mysterious silences leading Flora to believe he’s hiding secrets, she can’t help but wonder if she can really trust him. And when the race to bake the perfect Victoria sponge stirs up old rivalries between locals, Flora starts to feel like she’s bitten off more than she can chew.

After her new start, will Flora ever truly belong in Honeyford? And, this summer, can she risk opening up her heart again?

Readers are loving A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle:

‘Love love love this book so much! It's incredible... anyone who is a fan of a lovely heartwarming book, should definitely read this!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Oh my heart... a must-read... I am absolutely blown away by how much I loved and enjoyed it.... A well deserved five stars... Highly recommend. I actually devoured most of this book in a day, I couldn’t put it down.’ Between the Pages Book Club, 5 stars

‘Funny, heart-warming and totally addictive, I just couldn't put it down... an absolutely smashing book.’ Mrs C’s Honest Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘This story was a fabulous feel-good read, with a little bit of mystery, some romance and plenty of laughs to keep you going right from the beginning to the end! I loved it and once started, couldn’t put it down!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars


30k copies sold in the Cosy Kettle series.

For fans of Cathy Bramley, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

Liz began her writing career as a journalist for newspapers and magazines before moving into the health sector as a communications manager and press officer. The low point of her career was abandoning an interview with Cliff Richard after two questions because she was about to faint – her excuse is that she was newly pregnant at the time. Liz lives by the sea in West Sussex with her husband and grown-up daughter. She spends a lot of time meaning to meditate, avoiding exercise, and missing her son who lives in London.

Listen to sample
Log in to borrow

Information

Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms

PC/Mac

Smartphone