Jump to content
The library informs: Välkommen till Hyltebibliotekens e-böcker, med lånekort och en pinkod kan du låna 8 e-böcker varje månad. Mer information hittar du på www.hylte.se/bibliotek .
Cover for In Chancery
Isbn: 978-87-2661-143-4
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Novels Historic facsimile Romance
Accessible since: January 2024


In Chancery

Young Jolyon Forsyte develops a friendship with his cousin Soames' estranged wife Irene. As the friendship blooms into something more, Irene’s divorce is not going as smoothly as hoped. Instead of divorcing his wife Soames embarks on a far more destructive course of action.

'In Chancery' (1920) was written by English author and playwright John Galsworthy and is the second novel in his masterpiece, 'The Forsyte Saga'. The Forsyte Saga (1922) is a series of three novels and two interludes published between 1906 and 1921, all of which have been adapted for television.

John Galsworthy (1867-1933) was an English novelist and playwright, best known for his masterpiece 'The Forsyte Saga', which won him the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1932. The trilogy depicts an upper-class English family in the years 1886-1926. It was adapted for TV in 2002 for the ITV network starring Damian Lewis, Rupert Graves and Gina McKee.

In his stories, Galsworthy addresses social issues, family life, and the upper-middle class, in which he strongly criticised the morals and ideals of Victorian England. Among his other prominent works are 'From the Four Winds', 'The Silver Box', 'The Country House', and 'The Skin Game'.

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader