Jump to content
The library informs: Välkommen till Hyltebibliotekens e-böcker, med lånekort och en pinkod kan du låna 8 e-böcker varje månad. Mer information hittar du på www.hylte.se/bibliotek .
Cover for Cities in Literature: Paris
Isbn: 978-87-2857-631-1
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Category:
Novels Historic facsimile Romance
Accessible since: January 2024

E-book

Cities in Literature: Paris

You’re invited to wander the streets of Paris with France’s literary greats. Weaving a remarkable collection from the very best romantic writers, tales of love, loss, and laughter never felt so good.

With classics such as Victor Hugo’s ‘The Hunchback of Notre Dame’ and Gaston Leroux ‘The Phantom of the Opera’, you’ll peak behind the scenes at some of the West End’s most remarkable musicals.

But it’s not all rosy and bright. In 18th-century France, Charles Dicken’s ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ and Émile Zola’s ‘Nana’ portrays the harsh and raw reality for some of society’s most struggling protagonists. This collection will leave you questioning wealth and worth at a time when struggles were rife.

Ideal for fans of ‘Les Misérables’ starring Eddie Redmayne, Hugh Jackman, and Anne Hathaway, this unmissable collection is a must-read for French history, art, and culture fanatics.

Gaston Leroux (1868-1927) was a French journalist and author of detective fiction. He is best known for writing the epic novel ‘The Phantom of the Opera’, now a musical masterpiece by Andrew Lloyd Weber.

Gustave Flaubert (1821-1880) was a French novelist and pioneer of literary realism. His work spans ‘Madame Bovary’, ‘Sentimental Education’, and ‘Three Tales’.

Victor Hugo (1802 – 1885) was a Romantic writer and politician. Celebrated for his internationally renowned epic novel, adapted into the Academy Award-Winning film, ‘Les Misérables’, his literary output also includes ‘The Hunchback of Notre Dame’.

Émile Zola (1840-1902) was a French novelist, playwright, and one of the most influential writers of French naturalism. Zola’s best-known works include ‘Germinal’, ‘Nana’, and ‘Work’.

Celebrated as one of the greatest novelists of the Victorian era, Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was an English writer and social critic. His works include ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘A Christmas Carol’, and ‘Great Expectations’.



Log in to borrow

Information

Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms

PC/Mac

Tablet e-reader

Smartphone