Jump to content
The library informs: Välkommen till Hyltebibliotekens e-böcker, med lånekort och en pinkod kan du låna 8 e-böcker varje månad. Mer information hittar du på www.hylte.se/bibliotek .
Cover for Ovington's Bank
Isbn: 978-87-2813-875-5
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Category:
Novels Historic facsimile
Accessible since: January 2024

E-book

Ovington's Bank

'Ovington's Bank' is set in 1825 and was published in 1922 but - as the Financial Crisis of 2007 demonstrates - is as relevant today as it ever was.

The story follows a run on a private bank and is based on the British Panic that saw 70 banks fail. As the financial fallout lands, the gentry and the business classes scramble to save themselves, while being forced to examine their morals and motives.

This pacey narrative features a mugging, a stagecoach dash to London, a theft and a love affair. Who will be the winners and who will be the losers in this game of life?

This thrilling, nail-biting novel is perfect for fans of Wilkie Collins and Fergus Hume.

Stanley J. Weyman (1855–1928) was an English writer who wrote historical novels in particular. In his day, he was as popular as Charles Dickens and Rudyard Kipling. Many of his works are set in the 16th and 17th centuries. Weyman's best-known works include 'The Cardinal's Cause' and 'The True Nobleman'.



Log in to borrow

Information

Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms

PC/Mac

Tablet e-reader

Smartphone